All

Two Months

I’ve caught this coffee shop right at its close.

The barista is leisurely, but thoroughly, pushing a mop around the tile. He wears a blue sweatshirt and takes his time. tumblr_mb8i7xqWGk1qh7l4ho1_1280The other barista’s keys are jingling as she moves hurriedly, wiping counters, pushing milk into fridges, and runs water into a big sink. She pauses to text someone. It’s cold tonight, much to everyone’s chagrin. I see dead leaves, leftover from last fall skitter down the sidewalk. I wore a winter scarf despite it being April as I walked from my apartment to this coffee shop.

I watch cars drive by in the chilly spring air and the sky soften from grey to brilliant pink in the west to dark night. People walk by on the sidewalk with their hoods up, and I feel toasty on the other side of the glass with my cinnamon tea. The street lights just flickered and then buzzed on to their full orange flare.

Now that I’m one fourth of the way into 2014, I can confidently say that this has been a season of waiting. For a lot of things. It’s frustrating at times not to know what’s next and to be so simultaneously ready for something to happen. To move. Just an inch. Being patient and waiting on the Lord is really hard sometimes. I know I’m being vague here, but if there’s anyone else out there who’s waiting…for ANYTHING…you’re not alone. Let me know if you’re waiting too and I’ll buy you a cup of coffee somewhere and we can commiserate about it.

Other things to catch you up on? Well, meet my small group.

Image

Photo by Ali Kvidt Photography

They’re pretty great.

This photo was taken when we went up and spent a weekend at a cabin in Wisconsin. We four-wheeled, made pancakes, played games, watched movies, studied Titus, took naps, and went on hikes. The thing we all have in common is Hope Community Church in Minneapolis. I’d recommend it if you’re looking for a place to settle.

On another note, this is the book we’re reading for book club this next month.

Image

It’s a memoir by a woman who describes her 1,100-mile hike on the Pacific Crest Trail in a journey of self-discovery. I read the first page once during breakfast when my roommate had left the book on the kitchen table a few months back. It begins with the main character watching in horror as one of her hiking boots tumbles over a cliff. Needless to say, I was hooked from sentence number one, so I’m excited for this book to arrive in the mail so I can read the rest.

Other things in my life as of late…

One of my best friends, Elsie, got married! She is now a Rymer, and we are all very happy about that.

It’s at least 40 degrees out every day now. This means…running!

Here is a website you should check out. Because who doesn’t want tacos delivered to their door? Also, the Q & A is funny.

Sometimes our internet stops working and we don’t know why. We’re tired of calling Century Link and waiting on the phone for an hour.

I bought a 17-piece Magic Bullet set from one company, received it last week, and then a completely different company that I did not buy a Magic Bullet set from sent me another one in the mail free of charge. It was confusing.

Well, one of the baristas is now gathering several trash bags into a heap by the door and people are packing their backpacks and bags up, so I think that’s my cue. I know the walk back home will be even colder now that it’s dark and windy out, but I have a warm apartment and a piece of toast waiting for me, so all is well. Spring we’re ready for you, whenever you decide to come.

Have a good sleep!
L

 

Photo by vignettedesign.net

3 thoughts on “Two Months

  1. When we used Century Link (it was called Qwest then), we had the internet about 50% of the time. I’m with Comcast now and told Qwest, “Your price is cheaper, but your product doesn’t WORK.”

    Also, lovely post. You should blog more often. :-)

Leave a Reply

